Madame

Everyone’s family tree is filled with women.

Yet, somehow we often focus on the men.  I noticed that in my first seven posts, women don’t appear very much.  In fact, the only post that centers on a woman calls her a black hole (see Black Holes).

William Penn

William Penn

One reason for the absence of women from much of genealogical research and writing is probably the dearth of information about them that remains.  Women present a trickier genealogical subject because they’re often hidden behind their husband’s name.  Census records didn’t preserve maiden names.

Nevertheless, some women make themselves known.  Some jump out from the records and take on a life of their own.

When I first started doing family history, my uncle told me about Madame Ferree (as a somewhat naive twelve-year-old boy, I didn’t even know to titter when I heard the word madame although it sounds just like madam, as in “the madam of the brothel”).  Madame Ferree is one of those ladies of history who stands out as three-dimensional, even though she lived in a time when not all women did.

“Madame” Marie Ferree was a Huguenot refugee.  When Louis XIV made life difficult for Huguenots (French Protestants), many of them fled.  Around the time the Edict of Nantes was revoked (1685), Marie and her husband Daniel left France to escape persecution.

The trouble Daniel and his family experienced as Protestant Christians may have been more intense because Daniel was a wealthy and successful silk merchant.  His prominence in the community and his commitment to his beliefs probably drew special attention.

After leaving France, they moved around within Switzerland and Germany before ending up in Steinweiler, Billingheim, in the Palatinate.  While there they had their sixth child.  Then Daniel died.

It’s hard to imagine what life might have been like for Marie.  She was in an unfamiliar land, presumably separated from most of her family and friends.  She had six children to care for, one of them an infant.  And now she was alone.

Huguenots were known for sticking together and surely some of her co-religionists helped her in this challenging time.  But she didn’t stay in Germany long.  Within a few months of Daniel’s death, she made plans to go to Holland and then England, where Queen Anne had offered safe haven to Huguenot refugees.

Upon arriving in England, Marie set out to find William Penn.  His new colony in America was to be based on religious freedom and toleration–something Marie surely prized very highly.

Huguenot House

A Huguenot house built in 1712 in New Paltz, NY

Those who were willing to travel to Pennsylvania and help Penn colonize his new territory were given clothing, farm implements, tools and other necessities.  They were also given passage to the new land.  Sometime in 1710, Marie Ferree and her children (two of them with their spouses) arrived in America.

Before traveling to Pennsylvania–the wild frontier of the time–they stopped at a well-established Huguenot community in New Paltz, New York.  Most likely, they were waiting for their tract of land in Pennsylvania to be surveyed and properly titled.  Undoubtedly, they enjoyed the support of fellow Huguenots who were journeying together to find religious freedom.

After a couple of years in the thriving community of New Paltz, Marie and her family made their way into the wilderness of the frontier to stake out their new life.  When they arrived in September 1712, they were greeted by Native Americans who were friendly and welcoming.  Chief Tanawa assured them that he would help them in any way he could.  Marie called her family’s new home “Paradise.”  It still is (see Paradise, Pennsylvania on Wikipedia).

Carpenter's Cemetery

Carpenter's Cemetery in Paradise, Pennsylvania

As Marie settled her new land, she almost immediately chose a piece of it for a cemetery.  Just four years after coming to Paradise, Marie became one of the first to be buried in the Ferree Graveyard, later known as Carpenter’s Cemetery.

Madame Ferree probably didn’t look or act much like a French lady while she was establishing a new life on the wild frontier of early eighteenth-century America.  The work was hard and life was uncertain.  But she showed the character of a noble and many of her descendants became successful, influential people who made a meaningful contribution to American society.

Madame Marie Ferree was born around 1653 in France and died in 1716 in Pennsylvania.  She is my eight-times-great grandmother.

This entry was posted in Cemeteries, Ferree family, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Madame

  1. bronxboy55 says:

    Fascinating stuff, Kevin. History — everyone’s — is teeming with interesting people, and yours is certainly no exception. In fact, because you’ve been able to trace your family back through so many generations, its narrative closely follows the story of early America. I recently read a biography of Samuel de Champlain. One of the things I learned was that the French settlers seemed much more adept at forming good relationships with the native people than the English and Spanish were. I wonder how different the history of North America would have been if Marie Ferree’s countrymen (and women) had been more successful in their struggles with the British.

    • It is interesting to think about how different things could have been. But I’m glad we didn’t end up French, because I’ve never been able to make all the sounds it takes to effectively speak the French language.

      Relating to the native people was such a complex and significant part of our nation’s early history. I have several points in my family’s history that intersect with Native Americans. I’m still trying to figure out how those interactions worked. The evidence is often so thin, it’s hard to discern people’s motives and attitudes–but they’re the most interesting part.

      Thanks for the thoughtful comment.

  2. Pingback: A Father’s Concern for his Daughter | Arbor Familiae

  3. Mary says:

    Arborfamiliae,I loved reading your post. I, too, am a descendant of Marie Ferree on Philip’s side. My Great Aunt Jessie created a huge family tree years ago. You and I are, perhaps, “eighth cousins.” My husband and I have been busy raising three children. I am proud to be a descendant of such a strong woman. Her story has been inspiring to my daughters’ as well. I have recently taken an interest in my family history. I believe there is a reunion site. I’d be grateful for any information you have regarding this. Mary

    • There is a Ferree family reunion website that has a lot of good information on it. You can find it at http://www.ferreereunion.com

      There is also a genealogy discussion forum where people who are researching the Ferree family interact at http://genforum.genealogy.com/ferree

      Finally, there is a very well-managed myfamily.com site for the Ferree family. If you’re interested in joining this, I think I have to send you an invitation by email. Just let me know and I’d be happy to.

      I’d be happy to share any information I have (although pretty much all of it is available on the websites I just listed). I’ll send you a private email and we can go from there.

      Thanks so much for reading my blog. I too am proud to be a descendant of Marie Ferree.

  4. Louette Li Grisse Butwell says:

    I too, am a descendant of Marie Feree. My great grandmother was Ethel Feree. Her Father’s name was Sheldon. They lived in Belle Plain, IA. I would like to be allowed to visit the website. I think we are descended from Phillip. I am interested in finding out more about Marie and Daniel’s family in France

  5. Cynthia Ponta says:

    I am a descendent of Daniel and Marie Ferree from Daniel Jr, My great grandfather was Albert Ferree of York, Pa. Would like to know are there any pictures of Daniel and Marie Ferree ? Thank You

Leave a Reply

